Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Unhappy Microsoft blocking emails error 550 SC-001

    I have experienced the following problem twice in the last 6 months and thought it would be good to share and see if anyone else had similar or could offer advice.

    I run a VPS with about 20 small scale brochure-website type users. Most users are given a single domain email address to use and most are limited to 50 outgoing messages per hour. That is ample for their needs and means I can manage server resources.

    Suddenly in September 2010 outgoing messages to @hotmail.x, @live.x and @msn.x started bouncing with

    MTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:<my-users-account> SIZE=1629:
    host mx1.hotmail.com [65.55.37.120]: 550 SC-001 Unfortunately, messages from <my-VPS-IP> weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list.


    I reported to EUKhost and after 2-3 days of "try this, try that" and almost migrating to a different VPS/IP address combination, Microsoft agreed to remove the block and all was well.

    I immediately subscribed to Microsoft's Junk Mail Reporting Partner Program (which wasn't easy) and now I receive an email from Microsoft each time any of their crapware users click the 'Report SPAM' button.

    Since September I have received 4 such emails. In each case I have followed these up and concluded that 3 were erroneous and only 1 could legitimately be described as spam - and the sender was duly reprimanded.

    The last complaint email was received on 7th March.

    Yesterday, 23rd March, and the block is back - reported to EUK on ticket BLX-86222-829 (yet to be acknowledged guys... )

    There have been no configuration changes recently to anything at all on my VPS, let alone any email or DNS specific settings. The only changes in the last few weeks have been the parking of a couple of newly purchased domains - which I really can't see affecting email.

    I'm not particularly technical, especially when it comes to email, so be gentle if you do have any thoughts on this.

    Currently any attempt to message @hotmail.x, @msn.x and @live.x result in an immediate bounce with the above error. All other outgoing email to non-Microsoft hosted sites is working just fine.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The KOP END
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Hello

    I have asked the support department to look into the ticket BLX-86222-829. We will update the ticket with a response shortly. Thank you in advance for your patience and understanding.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks Ray.

    I did get an email a couple of hours ago asking for my VPS root password however this was some 20 hours after logging the ticket.

    The posting wasn't really a complaint about the support it was more to raise awareness of the issue and see if this is something that others have experience of.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The KOP END
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pumbie View Post
    Thanks Ray.

    I did get an email a couple of hours ago asking for my VPS root password however this was some 20 hours after logging the ticket.

    The posting wasn't really a complaint about the support it was more to raise awareness of the issue and see if this is something that others have experience of.
    Hello

    No issues at all . The error 550 SC-001 usually means they have manually blocked you for content with spam-like characteristics or IP/domain reputation IE a manual block.. We will need a bit of time to investigate this.

    Regards,
    Ray

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eUK-Ray View Post
    Hello

    No issues at all . The error 550 SC-001 usually means they have manually blocked you for content with spam-like characteristics or IP/domain reputation IE a manual block.. We will need a bit of time to investigate this.

    Regards,
    Ray

    I think I understand why they might do this - but what is puzzling is that I limit my client's outgoings to 50 per hour - the vast majority of them never ever hit this limit - and in the last 6 months I've only received 4 actual spam reports via Microsoft.

    When I've looked at each of the returned messages and quizzed the originators, in each case bar 1 it's been mails sent with the recipients' consent (permission given in writing at trade shows, or in one case a quote sent in response to a specific quote request made via their website!!??!!).

    Therefore I'd love to know what Microsoft's criteria are for adding these blocks?

    ... unless for some reason they're blocking a whole IP range and I'm suffering at the hands of others?? Could EUKhost comment on this possibility? Are there other users experiencing this phenomena which might be in the same IP range (you don't need to name names, just a simple yes or no would be helpful)...?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The KOP END
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pumbie View Post
    I think I understand why they might do this - but what is puzzling is that I limit my client's outgoings to 50 per hour - the vast majority of them never ever hit this limit - and in the last 6 months I've only received 4 actual spam reports via Microsoft.

    When I've looked at each of the returned messages and quizzed the originators, in each case bar 1 it's been mails sent with the recipients' consent (permission given in writing at trade shows, or in one case a quote sent in response to a specific quote request made via their website!!??!!).

    Therefore I'd love to know what Microsoft's criteria are for adding these blocks?

    ... unless for some reason they're blocking a whole IP range and I'm suffering at the hands of others?? Could EUKhost comment on this possibility? Are there other users experiencing this phenomena which might be in the same IP range (you don't need to name names, just a simple yes or no would be helpful)...?
    Hi

    I checked in our Smart Network Data Services account with them. The range is not blacklisted or we would have had a lot of reports for the same. So I will have to say No.

    I have sent you a PM . Please kindly check PM. it will have a details to get to the root of who reported you hopefully.

    Regards,
    Ray

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thank you.

    I've filled in the form although there were many technical questions I could not answer.

    Let's see what happens

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The KOP END
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pumbie View Post
    Thank you.

    I've filled in the form although there were many technical questions I could not answer.

    Let's see what happens
    Kindly keep that ticket number for reference with MS.

    Thanks,
    Ray

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Just to update - overnight the problem seems to have been fixed. I received the following in a template email from Microsoft Hotmail support - so I have obviously asked for more information about their filtering system and how it makes such decisions (not that I expect a reply) due to the claim in bold...

    The IP space <MY-SERVIER-IP> was blocked by Windows Live Hotmail because the majority of all the email that you send has been judged to be spam by Windows Live Hotmail's internal filtering system. I have conducted an investigation into the emails originating from your IP space and have implemented a fix for your deliverability problem. This fix may take 24 - 48 hours to replicate completely throughout our system.

    Please note that lifting the block does not guarantee that your email will be delivered to a user's inbox. Messages from any IP space are still subject to our internal filtering system.


    I've taken a long hard look at my server logs and really cannot see how the bit in bold can be substantiated - especially when the Microsoft Junk Mail Reporting Program has only sent 4 alerts in 6 months...

    Anyway for the moment thank you EUKhost for your assistance with this. I have a feeling it's not over though...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •